Severndroog Castle is a unique 18th Century Grade 2* listed folly tower in the Shooters Hill Woodlands, South East London. The Castle was built in 1784 by Lady James of Eltham as a memorial to her husband, Sir William James, who died in 1783. The building was closed to the public in 1988, re-opening to the public in July 2014. Since then, Severndroog Castle Building Preservation Trust continues to work towards securing the future of the building through community and commercial activities. The organisation is largely volunteer run so your contribution no matter how big or small is essential.
Visitor assistants support the castle in offering a first rate visitor experience, ensuring all visitors are welcomed and given any information they require. The castle consists of two rooms and a viewing platform. Training will include induction and on the job training.
- Greeting visitors on arrival and providing a friendly, informed and inspiring welcome
- Issuing day tickets and membership
- Assisting with visitor enquiries on all aspects of Severndroog
- Assisting with the opening and closing of the building
- Invigilation of the building
- Patrolling the building and engage individual visitors and families in impromptu talks or conversations
- Protecting visitors by maintaining an awareness of relevant health and safety procedures